Soul System (Nicholas) | Lost Tapes #1

Tracks A1. Never Gonna Be The Same - Original Mix
  A2. Keep On Giving - Original Mix
  A3. Soul Beats - Original Mix
  B1. Soul System - Original Mix
  B2. Everything Must Change - Original Mix
Genre Detroit House


Wax Classic


Vinyl (ONLY)

Cat No.


Release Date

(Vinyl - Jan 2012)

Mastered By

Unknown - We will find out!


Soul System (Nicholas) Label

Wax Classic


Born and raised Italian-American, Nicholas Lammatteo (Soul System /Nicholas) has worked his way into every good DJ's record bag over the last few years. With releases on No More Hits, 4Lux, NU Groove, Quintessentials, Amplified, Small World Disco and now the fantastic Wax Classic label, his music is much in demand.


Here, under his moniker Soul System, Nicholas treats us to an incredible EP - not just three tracks on this winner but five timeless classics on one 12".


Listen over his sterling back catalogue and it's clear to see why Nicholas has become a shining star of the underground scene. There's no denying it's well deserved. After his edit of 'Love Is', I knew this guy was special. And this new release 'Lost Cuts 1' only reinforces that view.


A1. Never Gonna Be The Same - Kicks off the EP with his trademark fun-filled percussion vibe, which leads into a funky dance number that makes you want to dance and shake that thing! The slow vibe produces a real cool feel to the track. A sexy spoken female vocal combined with magical key riffs get you in the mood for loving, dancing and a whole lot more! A real smooth track.


A2. Keep On Giving - A rich piano chord reverbed with a raw percussion vibe makes for a stirring start to the track. Reminds me of something I would have heard on Strictly Rhythm back in the day. Lovely sounds in all the right places is something Nicholas does so well. Classic House at it's best!


A3. Soul Beats - If you're into the Moodymann, Theo Parish and MAW, then you're gonna love this one. Still on the slower vibe, this track creates a tough, strong and chunky 90s House vibe with old school breakdowns of gospel vocals thanking the lord. Oh yes indeedy, thank you Lord for this wonderful creation that Nicholas has made. Fantastic work!


B1. Soul System - Flipping over this lovely 12"-ONLY cut, I'm seduced by some deep and cool bass sounds, New York 80s style! Thoughtful pads get this journeyful track going and, before you know it, you're immersed in nostalgic sounds which bring the deep emotion behind this production to the fore. The track then builds nicely using the acid 303 sounds that so many producers abuse and go into over-kill with - but, in all honesty, I feel it really works well here. Bravo Soul System.


B2. Everything Must Change - Flirting with a lovely 90s style House vibe, the final track on the EP really shows you what Soul System is all about. Combining a vocal snippet from the late Gil Scott Heron with simply fantastic music and production, Nicholas ticks all the right boxes and can do no wrong.


All in all, a fantastic release that really takes me back to one of the most special times of House music, the 'Summer Of Love'.


Don't miss out on one of these bad boys...this is most certainly Hot Plastic!


Words by Jon Reynolds

site by aconitedesign