Delano Smith | An Oddyssey

Tracks A1 . Delano Smith – Survival
  A2 . Delano Smith – What I Do
  B1 . Delano Smith – Feel This (Odyssey Version)
  C1 . Delano Smith – Trust In Something
  C2 . Delano Smith – Midnight Hours
  D1 . Delano Smith – No Turning Back
  D2 . Delano Smith – I Wonder
  E1 . Delano Smith – Odyssey
  E2 . Delano Smith – Inspiration
  F1 . Delano Smith – Invitation Only
  F2 . Delano Smith – Togetherness
Genre House / Deep House




Vinyl / Digital

Cat No.


Release Date

Coming Soon


Delano Smith


Delano Smith is one of the first artists who come to mind when speaking about Detroit House and Techno.

Born in Chicago and raised in Detroit, Delano’s career started in the late 70′s DJ’ing together with the godfather of Detroit House, Ken Collier. Delano was one of Kens “students” and during the 80’s started to spin a mixture of Disco and Funk. It was during those years that like all legendary DJs he started to develop his own sound to what we know today as “House” music and then later on, Techno.

During the early years Delano would get to play records in front of now legendary DJ’s such as Derrick May and Jeff Mills. Then, around 10 years ago, Delano decided to take all of his DJ experience and bring it to the studio. Shortly afterwards he started his own label called Mixmode and started to release records that are still played by the leading DJ’s on the scene today from Ricardo Villalobos, Daniel Bell to Laurent Garnier and Derrick May.

“Delano – Watching you play brings back so many memories! I used to go listen to you long before I ever wanted to become a DJ. At the YWCA, Downstairs Pub with Ken. I’m following you. Keep it comin’!”
- Jeff Mills

A few years ago Delano joined forces and formed a deep relationship with Sushitech. The first release on the label and a now very sought after limited release, was with long-term Detroit buddy Norm Talley. As well a string of releases and playing at all the main label parties, Delano has cemented himself as one of the leading artists on the label. It was then only natural that he should want to release his first album on the same label that he has become such a big part of.

Derrick May: “There was no Derrick May without Delano Smith”

Contained within the album, Delano shows us the musical world he is living in today. Taking all of his experiences from the past years, all the various styles of records he has played and all of the inspiration that has soaked into his soul from playing in major clubs and cities around the globe, the album comes together as a single entity and represents the sound of Delano Smith and his work with Sushitech.

The album sound is deep, lush and dry just as you would expect from a true Detroit legend. Moving all the way from Deep House to Techno, Delano and Sushitech have collected his best works during the last 2 years and compiled an album of new tracks and unreleased rare mixes that should be a welcome addition to any collector or DJ.

The album includes 3 records and a limited edition CD with a booklet containing the Detroit Story through the eyes of Delano Smith, as well as original pictures and stories. This is an album not to be missed!


Words from Sushitech – Berlin, 2012

site by aconitedesign